//
IF YOU LIKE…SERIES SPRINGBOARDS

Have you, your child or your students finished reading a popular, much-publicized series like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson or Diary of a Wimpy Kid? Are you are at a loss as to what series you could read next?

Take a LOOK below for what could be the springboard to your next great read!

IF YOU LIKE...HARRY POTTER series by J. K. Rowling

Fantasy, Magic, Witches, Wizards & Dragons

THEN YOU MIGHT LIKE THESE SERIES (Book 1 in BOLD):

  • Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer Artemis Fowl
  • Septimus Heap by Angie Sage Magyk
  • Pongwiffy by Kaye Umansky Pongwiffy
  • Fablehaven by Brandon Mull Fablehaven
  • Samuel Blink by Matt Haig Samuel Blink and the Forbidden Forest
  • Alcatraz by Brandon Sanderson Alcatraz vs the Evil Librarians
  • Guardians of Childhood by William Joyce Nicholas St. North and the Battle of the Nightmare King
  • Darwen Arkwright by A. J. Hartley Darwen Arkwright and the Peregrine Pact
  • Ghosthunters by Cornelia Funke Ghosthunters and the Incredibly Revolting Ghost
  • Moongobble and Me by Bruce Coville The Dragon of Doom
  • Inkheart by Cornelia Funke Inkheart
  • Emmy by Lynne Jonell Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat
  • The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde The Last Dragonslayer
  • How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell How to Train Your Dragon
  • The Books of Beginning by John Stephens The Emerald Atlas
  • Savvy by Ingrid Law Savvy
  • Underworld Chronicles by Jennifer Nielsen Eliot and the Goblin War

IF YOU LIKE…PERCY JACKSON series by Rick Riordan

Adventure, Mythology & Magic

THEN YOU MIGHT LIKE THESE SERIES (Book 1 in BOLD):

  • The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan The Red Pyramid
  • Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan The Lightning Thief
  • Heroes in Training by Joan Holub Zeus and the Thunder Bolt of Doom
  • Underworlds by Tony Abbott The Battle Begins)
  • The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott The Alchemyst
  • Peter and the Star Catchers by Ridley Pearson & Dave Barry Peter and the Starcatchers
  • Never Land by Ridley Pearson & Dave Barry Escape from the Carnivale
  • Myth-O-Mania by Kate McMullanHave a Hot Time, Hades!

IF YOU LIKE…DIARY OF A WIMPY KID series by Jeff Kinney

Humor, Realistic Fiction Written in Diary or First Person Form, Often Accompanied by Graphic Novel-type Illustrations

THEN YOU MIGHT LIKE THESE SERIES (Book 1 in BOLD):

  • Big Nate by Lincoln Peirce Big Nate: In a Class By Himself
  • Justin Case by Rachel Vail School, Drool and Other Daily Disasters
  • Tom Gates by Liz Pichon The Brilliant World of Tom Gates
  • Clarice Bean by Lauren Child–This series starts as picture books; 1st middle grade version is #5 Clarice Bean, Utterly Me
  • Dear Dumb Diary by James Benton Let’s Pretend This Never Happened
  • Alvin Ho by Lenore Look Allergic to Girls, School and Other Scary Things
  • Origami Yoda by Tom Angelberger The Strange Case of Origami Yoda
  • Journal of a Cardboard Genius by Frank Asch Star Jumper
  • Shredderman by Wendelin van Draanen Secret Identity

IF YOU LIKE…Mystery & Detective Adventures

THEN YOU MIGHT LIKE THESE SERIES (Book 1 in BOLD):

  • Enola Holmes by Nancy Springer The Case of the Missing Marquess
  • Sammy Keyes by Wendelin van Draanen The Hotel Thief
  • Chet Gecko by Bruce Hale The Chameleon Wore Chartreuse
  • Wilma Tenderfoot by Emma Kennedy The Case of the Frozen Heart
  • Funjungle by Stuart Gibbs Belly Up

IF YOU LIKE…Science Fiction, Future/Alternate Societies, Aliens & Alien Worlds, Superheroes

THEN YOU MIGHT LIKE THESE SERIES (Book 1 in BOLD):

  • Time Quintet by Madeleine L’Engle A Wrinkle in Time
  • Jack Blank by Matt Myklusch The Accidental Hero past printings have listed it as Jack Blank and the Imagine Nation
  • Nose Pickers From Outer Space by Gordan Korman  Nose Pickers From Outer Space
  • House of Robots by James Patterson House of Robots
  • Things by Andrew Clements Things Not Seen
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner The Maze Runner

IF YOU LIKE…Time Travel, Historical Fiction, Stories in the Past, often with Famous Historical Figures, Medieval Times

THEN YOU MIGHT LIKE THESE SERIES (Book 1 in BOLD):

  • Time Warp Trio by Jon Szcieska Knights of the Kitchen Table
  • Missing by Margaret Peterson Haddix Found
  • Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery Anne of Green Gables
  • The Shakespeare Stealer by Gary Blackwood The Shakespeare Stealer
  • Houdini & Nate Mysteries by Tom Lalicki Danger in the Dark
  • Qwerty Stevens by Dan Gutman Back in Time with Thomas Edison  or it may be titled The Edison Mystery
  • The Last Musketeer by Stuart Gibbs The Last Musketeer
  • Knights’ Tales by Gerald Morris The Adventures of Sir Lancelot the Great
  • Tales of the Dark Forest by Steve Barlow & Steve Skidmore Goodknyght
  • Titanic Trilogy by Gordan Korman Unsinkable
  • Sebastian Darke by Philip Caveney Sebastian Darke:  Prince of Fools
  • Max and the Midknights by Lincoln Peirce Max and the Midknights
  • Al Capone At Alcatraz by Gennifer Choldenko Al Capone Does My Shirts

IF YOU LIKE…Adventures in Espionage, Spies & Conspiracy

THEN YOU MIGHT LIKE THESE SERIES (Book 1 in BOLD):

  • The Gecko & Sticky by Wendelin van Draanen Villain’s Lair
  • Janitors by Tyler Whitesides Janitors
  • Daniel X by James Patterson The Dangerous Days of Daniel X
  • Alex Rider by Anthony Horowitz Stormbreaker
  • Steel Trapp by Ridley Pearson The Challenge
  • NERDS by Michael Buckley NERDS: National Espionage, Rescue, and Defense Society

IF YOU LIKE…Clever, Funny or Thrilling Retellings of Fairytales

THEN YOU MIGHT LIKE THESE SERIES (Book 1 in BOLD):

  • The Lunar Chronicles by Marisa Meyer Cinder
  • The Sisters Grimm by Michael Buckley The Fairytale Detectives
  • The League of Princes by Christopher Healy The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom
  • A Tale Dark & Grimm by Adam Gidwitz  A Tale Dark & Grimm
  • A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer A Curse So Dark and Lonely

IF YOU LIKE…Scary, Creepy Stories

THEN YOU MIGHT LIKE THESE SERIES (Book 1 in BOLD):

  • Dinkin Dings by Guy Bass Dinkin Dings and the Frightening Things
  • Something Wickedly Weird by Chris Would The Wooden Mile
  • Barnaby Grimes by Chris Riddell & Paul Stewart Curse of the Night Wolf
  • Lockwood & Co by Johnathan Stroud The Screaming Staircase
  • Gustav Gloom by Adam-Troy Castro Gustav Gloom and the People Taker

 

 

Advertisements

Comments are closed.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: